Poets logo

Table for One

A poem about moving on

By Devyn SharelPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Table for One
Photo by Zane Persaud on Unsplash

Last week I made a wish on you

Tried my best to make it come true

Saw 11:11 for 3 days straight

I thought surely it’s a sign

And I shouldn’t hesitate

To make a wish

So I clenched my eyes and prayed

Hoping that God heard it

Choosing to have faith and move unafraid

What then would you have me do, Universe?

Sit while me, myself, and I converse

I can’t say that I’ve been

The biggest fan of patience

But I have no choice

In this game waiting

But the day went by

And the night soon followed

And all that was left

Was an empty wish

And a heart that felt hollow

To my “surprise”

The wish did not spark

And I ran out of wishes

Or cares to give

To satisfy my heart

It’s time that I bow out

Of this table for one

I’m afraid no one is coming

So I’ll see myself out

I’ve blown out my last candle

And I won’t light another one

It’s time to move on

At this table for one.

Copyright 2023

sad poetrylove poems
2

About the Creator

Devyn Sharel

Devyn Sharel is a fiction writer, poet & Film enthusiast. She enjoys writing fiction romance, drama and other genres that challenge her creative comfort zone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Brilliant work and Beautiful 🫶🏾‼️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.