Poets logo

Table for One

Thoughts on dining alone

By Ciara WholeyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Table for One
Photo by Lex Sirikiat on Unsplash

I’ve learned to love getting dinner alone in new places

Taking in atmosphere, the laughter from locals and vacationers

People on first dates

100th dates

My view and thoughts uninterrupted by conversation

While the surrounding city may be loud

I’m at peace in my observations

Unencumbered by the social norms of solitary dining

I just like to watch

I like to let people wonder about me

Mysterious in my comfort

Unusual with my single place setting

To me it’s almost empowering

To be so complete with oneself that the reliance upon other people for dinner plans becomes simply arbitrary

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Ciara Wholey

My thoughts and musings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.