Poets logo

Sweet Reprieve

November 2019

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Sweet Reprieve
Photo by Travis Grossen on Unsplash

There was no playing hard to get

I wore my heart fully on my sleeve

In your presence I found myself falling hard

You were my sweet reprieve

Next to you I could smile and let my guard down

and every time it was so hard to leave

In your arms I found comfort and safety

You were my sweet reprieve

I was overwhelmed and drowning

and for those moments I could surface to breathe

In your lips I found pleasure and escape

You were my sweet reprieve

I dared to think that maybe I was worthy

and for those days I started to believe

In your eyes I found a glimpse of what could have been

You were my sweet reprieve

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.