Poets logo

"Suspension of Divine Disbelief"

(Faith's Test)

By Jeffrey P BaileyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Oh God

my supposed savior

I’ve fallen to my knees again.

Don’t even know if you’re here

Just for the things

I need

to keep me alive;

your son gave it all up for all of us…

but I must swallow my pride.

You gave me this life.

You knew what would become of me

before I had the option

to believe.

Blind faith’s

the only prayer I have left.

Huddled up to you now

when I’d rather turn my back on you now.

I wonder what it would take

for either one of us

to pass as something

other than fake.

In your eyes

or those of the Anti-Christ

see that I never cross the lines

so that to this occasion

I may rise above creation.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey P Bailey

Fan-funded. https://account.venmo.com/u/Jeffrey-Bailey-115

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xf5DZupaqo8&t=125s&ab_channel=ScottAlanSpiritualEssence

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.