Poets logo

SUSIE SQUIRREL

Nature learning

By Vicki LucasPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

SUSIE SQUIRREL

Oh Mrs Susie squirrel , hiding up amongst the leaves

Won’t you come and play with me, pretty pretty please

I left you out some peanuts, Mum says that you like those

And I could see you wiggling, your cute wee button nose

So tell me did you like them? Should I go and get some more?

Would you like them in a dish? Or scattered on the floor?

I see you jumping happily, running quickly without care

I wish that I could play with you, but Mum would get a scare

If she could see me in the trees, jumping from bough to bough

She’d wonder why I’m up there, she’d surely ask me how

Anyway Dear Susie, I’ve been sat here very still

And Mum she said, with patience, come down you surely will

I’ve been sat here for 5 minutes, it feels like half a day

I really wish you’d come on down, and then we’d get to play

I love so much about you, I love your bushy tail

And your little twitchy whiskers, and the way you climb so well!

I know there is a nest you build, often called a drey

And you have a baby called a kit, that’s where it’s tucked away

I’ll find some more things that you like, yes that is what I’ll do!

Then we can surely be best friends, If that’s ok with you? ❤️

Vicki Lucas

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Vicki Lucas

Hi, I’m a Mum of six and absolutely love writing. Life is a story after all. After losing my Father recently I’ve found that my writing is the only way to keep me sane! Thanks for all your support, it means the world ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.