Poets logo

Survival Brain

And how to break free from it

By Nixza GonzalezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Survival Brain
Photo by Vlad Tchompalov on Unsplash

For once in my life, everything is stable.

And yet I feel ready to fight any evils.

My hands should be free and untensed,

and yet they are balled up into two fighting fists.

The atmosphere is calm,

and everything is still.

But my eyes are waiting,

for any upcoming hill.

My finances are balanced,

yet spending a penny feels too much.

I have a savings account that's building,

yet I am too afraid to let myself touch.

I feel the most stable,

and yet I can't relax.

My survival brain is just too intact.

I am not even hungry,

but I don't want to waste food.

Everything is in zip locks,

and dinner for five nights is brewed.

The area screams 'safe',

but I lock my car.

I make sure that I don't walk far.

Will there ever be a time where I feel free, safe, or secure?

I don't know anymore.

My brain is in survival mode,

and there doesn't seem to be an end.

I see no off button,

the thought of one brings me dread.

I am sure that even if I ever live in a million dollar house,

I'll ration my food,

lock my car,

and spend almost all of my time,

watching the stars.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Nixza Gonzalez

My passion for writing is suddenly back and I want to share it with the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.