Poets logo

Survival

Ayana Stagg

By Hi, I'm Ayana.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

What does it mean? Does it make you strong? Are you invincible?

How do we choose who is strong and who is not?

Is survival that measurement?

Is it a blessing or is it a curse?

Is it something to look forward to?

Is it a shield that keeps you from living life?

Is it a badge of honor, or is it a mark of loneliness?

Are we supposed to be proud?

What if that’s all we know?

What if survival marks you as healthy and well?

Are your problems then trivial?

Because you proved you will survive.

Because you are strong.

Because you don’t need help.

Help is for the weak.

You survived.

You are strong.

Your pain, you have no right to feel it.

For you survived.

You have no right to complain.

But what if I’m trapped?

What if I never get out?

What if I never find peace?

Fighting to exist. Fighting to survive. Fighting and alone.

At what point am I just fighting myself?

But you are strong.

You survived.

Move past your struggles.

You are fine.

You survived.

You are healthy and strong, you exist, you look fine.

N-no excuses, you survived!

Is survival a response to trauma?

Can you, c-can you heal with just that?

Are you damned if you survive?

Are you damned if you don’t?

Do you stay in fight or flight?

Do you stick to what you know?

You survived! It worked!

Does that mean you stick to what you know?

I survived. It worked!

So do I stick with what I know?

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Hi, I'm Ayana.

Hi, I'm Ayana. I write poetry and prose. Usually with a spiritual/esoteric whisper ;). Tip!🌻💙

Well wishes and heavenly kisses,

Ayana

(Uh-ya-na)

IG: hi.im.ayana

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.