Poets logo

Sunshine Smiles

Learning to flirt

By Emma BradleyPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

He smiles at me like I am sunshine

and then sunshine I become.

I beam at him

like he is the best taco I have ever had. True love is being compared favorably to your lovers favorite food.

He looks at me that way too.

Like he wants to devour me.

Happily,

carefully,

with love,

but also an appetite

that hasn't been full in a long time.

He looks at me like I am an item

on a menu at a restaurant he loves

but hasn't been to in a long time.

Desire and adoration colliding spectacularly

in a firework display

that he keeps carefully

under the surface.

He wouldn't mind if I knew

but he doesn't want anyone else

to know how much

he wants to dig in

and get messy.

How much he thinks about what he wants to do with me

if we were alone

and nothing was out of the question. He's fully in

still only communicating that

with looks that

turn me into a puddle

and by saying my name

with a voice that could

turn me on

by reading a phone book.

It vibrates through me

like an earthquake

and changes my reality

every time I hear it.

We're stuck in skinny love,

unsure how to move forward,

unsure how to say hey,

I like you.

I like you more than food.

And that is saying something

because I love to eat

like Gordon Ramsey loves

to yell at people.

To say that I too want to

nosh on you

like I would the a great burger

after a day of skiing

is an understatement.

It's a bigger pull

than an empty stomach.

It's a magnet.

Uncontrollable to the dismay

of the small rational part of my brain. But what do I have to lose?

Worse case scenario

I eat until I'm full

and then order different tacos.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emma Bradley

I graduated from The University of Maine at Farmington, with a degree in creative writing. Born and raised in Maine but also a British citizen. Currently in Portland, Maine

My personal blog is at https://emmapidden.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.