Poets logo

Sunlight On The Water

A Poem Of love and a proposal

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
15
Sunlight On The Water
Photo by Vitor Pinto on Unsplash

The sunlight on the water

Reflected in her smile

And when I got on bended knee

The twinkle in her eye.

*

I was so very nervous

Although I tried to seem so bold

But the tears trickled from my eyes

When I slipped on the ring of gold.

*

The earth stood still at that moment

And my heart thundered in my ears

Until she said Yes she’d be mine

For the remainder of our years.

*

Now my life is almost done

And my youth I can barely remember

But I will never forget the sheer happiness

Of our wedding that September.

*

As my heart begins its final slowing

And you clutch my hand

My mind returns to that magical day, and

*

The sunlight on the water

Reflected in her smile

And now as I start to fade

The sadness in her eye.

love poems
15

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.