Poets logo

Sunday Mornings

A poem for my father

By Jennifer M. WardPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Sunday Mornings
Photo by Léonard Cotte on Unsplash

Sunday mornings in Brooklyn,

we walked, side by side.

The sky was gold and azure blue

Softly blended like chalk pastels,

the sunrise’s afterglow.

Each quiet brownstone house

brightened by auburn rays.

Beautiful, like a work of art.

Like a picture we made once,

encased in a thick, glass frame.

It feels like another lifetime when,

the sun poured down on us like

a waterfall of happiness and hope.

I can almost taste the sweet lemonade,

and hear the stories you once told me

of your childhood.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Jennifer M. Ward

I was born and raised in Brooklyn, NY. I write contemporary fiction, nonfiction stories, and blog posts about life, books, and creativity. Connect with me on Twitter @jennwardwrites or find me here: https://jennifermarieward.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.