Poets logo

Sun Dress Again

- Sweet pea

By Jake TrammellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sun Dress Again
Photo by Sara Kurfeß on Unsplash

“There’s a bit of a trend here, I think it might be me. This one should be a funny story though. Boy meets girl as they do nowadays, online. She’s as wonderful as can be, as sweet as they come, and so much smarter than he. Why would he be so lucky as to have the opportunity to love you and have you love him? What god did he appease?

Except there is no god’s hand at play, nor any appeasement at hand. She thinks she’s no good for me, and I the same. Our collective mind says “you are not good enough.” But hell hath no fury like a love struck and forlorn person, I think I messed that line up. Whatever. The story goes as such: boy meets girl, girl meets boy, boy loves girl, girl loves boy; fuck how could they mess this up.

Years go by, boy is always a shoulder to cry on as boyfriend after boyfriend hurts girl. It’s lovely, because they love each other. This ain’t a story that ends badly though. She loves her sun dress, and boy just loves when she’s happy. An unending cycle of comforting and unfulfilled wishes. I swear the chemistry is there.

Boy leaves voicemails for her, just as she once did for him. Days go on without a response. They say distance makes the heart grow fonder, but what happens when only distance grows. Occasional conversation replaces hours of phone calls. No more “good mornings.”, the time of “I love you” has passed.

She says “I love you” as though it were the same, but I know your feelings aren’t as they were. He says “I love you.” and she doesn’t believe him. Where do they go from here? How do you return to what once was? He once said “marry me” and she laughed it off. I think they strung the end out as far as it could go. Distance makes the poor fools think something can be made whole again, and let’s the naive think they can maintain what is.

Hell hath fury, and no one was scorned. No one here but a fool who cares too much, and the naivety of those who long for something more.”

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jake Trammell

I write things I could never speak aloud. Usually in the form of poetry or short stories. One day I’d like to write a novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.