Poets logo

Summer Solstice

Denyse Sigler Schwengels

By Denyse M. SchwengelsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Summer Solstice
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

Summertime brings
lazy breezes,
Tiny bursts of
daylight exploding
and dancing around me,
Like tiny pixels of color
Bursting from a digital image.




I smile at its electric rays,
As they seemed ready
to illuminate and kiss my
skin and face,
Like they did last summer.


I take in the fragrant
minty odors
of eucalyptus leaves,
and the sweet scent of
The stoic sycamore tree


Its leaves, all crisp,
and bursting of
Pine and Woodsy odors
So devine
Soft and fragrant against
the wind around us,
Bay leaves slowly floated,
About little my veranda.

Nothing warms me
Like the summertime...

Newborn, refreshing
A season, to revere.
Summer comes but
Once each year,
I wish it could stay longer
Said my mind, so clear...

The pungent waft of
An autumn day,
That will surely be
coming along any day,
fills my grateful heart
with warmth at this display,

of nature's perfect
works of art...

I will always spoil
My eyes on the image,
Of the fluttering yet
Perfect winged extension,
of the monarch butterfly...

As it flitters and dances,
before the whites,
Of my remarkable eyes
Beautifully,
It dances,
and skitters in flight,
Soaring, away
into the dark
of the night..
Into the shadows
and out of my sight,
God's perfect specimens
Of a creation so right.

I had to marvel at
Such a gorgeous night...




Walking down
The old wooden,
staircase leading to
A wet and rickety dock.
I see vessels floating by
On the surface of
the aqua blue waters top...


Hypnotized,
My eyes
caught a school of
hungry clownfish,
as they crowded
The large amoeba,
In search of a snack
Of their wish

The smooth, glassy water
was brilliant and
Amazing,

I could see straight to
The bottom,
So clean,
So pristine...

In daylight
So transparent
Making 30 ft
of this ocean beach,

Seem so close and shallow!

My feet
touching the ground,
Are greeted with
The beachy and salty
Sand,
It's wet grittiness
Seeping right between
my toes
& from my hands.

Seaweed and
foam soon gathers,
Mixed with the fishy
Scented water,

Filling my nose
With its odor....

I smile,
Looking up to the heavens...
And into
the atmosphere.
Not a cloud,
dare
to be near,
The sun reigns high
above and clear,
Leave it up to
The summer,
Always in that
hot and lazy mood.
To lazy and hot,
To move from its spot,
In the sky...
So high above me!

Bravely,
dipping my toes
Into the aqua blue,
Water, without
my flip-flop shoes,

I tan myself,
Along the sunny
beach,
This day was made
Without the ruse,
Of clouds,
that seem to always confuse,
The spaces between the sun
and the moon,

Along this California Bay.

I must have convinced
Mr. Sun to stay,
and have some fun
with me today...
In my childish urge to play...


Alas!
Goodbye
To summer!

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Denyse M. Schwengels

to

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.