Poets logo

Summer Revelation

know your worth

By Bianca WilsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Someone thought it would be a good idea

To have my cousin Mina stay for the summer

Perfect, beautiful Mina

Full of charm and allure

An angel in my parent’s eyes

A witch in my own

She turned my friends against me

Stole my parents from me

Got my crush’s attention

Whenever we go out to hang

I’m always in the back, forgotten

It’s okay

I tell my reflection in the bathroom of the movie theater

After they ditched me

Because you’re cool

You’re too cool for fakers like them

I strike a pose

Look how cool I am!

It’s no wonder I attracted such flies for friends

They are so dead to me

All of them, every last one!

Anyone who can’t resist Mina’s charm

Isn’t true

And when she left

The spell broke

And they all came back to me

Like flies drawn to shit

The prodigal son

And karma

And you know what I did?

I held up my hand to their faces

And told them that I wasn’t here

They’d have to leave a message after the (finger)beep

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Bianca Wilson

Author of Dream of the Cabbage Spirit on Amazon. Webnovel writer, simmer, poet and daydreamer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.