Poets logo

Sudden Breakups

& abandonment issues

By Kay HusnickPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Sudden Breakups
Photo by Steinar Engeland on Unsplash

I hope you have a good day?

who ends a breakup with

'I hope you have a good day'

as though I wouldn't fall apart

wonder what I did wrong

worry about your wellbeing

because things were fine three days ago

Have I had any good days?

lost more weight,

went to the hospital,

lied to the EMTs so I could go home,

started a fight with my dad on the back porch

hoping maybe he'd get mad and

push me down the concrete steps

What are good days?

when I look at apartments

instead of dwindling glass bottles,

eat one hot dog and nothing else all day,

take two sips of water for the first time this week,

let my mom schedule a doctor's appointment for me

and log in for class instead of dropping out

I miss my last good day,

would've savored it more

held you longer

said a real goodbye

if I had seen this coming, but no

I sit at home wishing you'd call

knowing you won't

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.