Poets logo

Subsequent Lover

By Hector GonzalezPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I'm not the type

of person who might

be seen on the street and thought

love at first sight.

I'm remarkably plain

fit and muscular for sure

but my face, to be seen,

gathers none to confer.

It's my mind and my words

which levy the heart,

but to find and be seen

was the task from the start.

I'm the person you meet

when you've run out of love;

you've conceded defeat

and relinquished the dove.

Not worth full affection;

just...secondary.

A shadow concession;

my worth...it varies.

And that's what hurts;

what breaks my will.

That I was invisible;

AM invisible...still.

On the podium of love

I'm disqualified from first;

a stranger to the moment

the heart learns to burst.

My identity remains

hidden under cover.

I sing my refrain.

Yours,

Subsequent Lover

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Hector Gonzalez

I'm a creative writer. I don't blog or write op-eds. I talk about my perspectives on twitch as I write and I consolidate my most intricate feelings into poetic forms. I'm always open for meaningful conversation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.