Poets logo

Stuck

Landlocked

By Lee HawkridgePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I miss the way the ocean gleams

Stuck here among the concrete flats

My heart is breaking at the seams

Stuck in landlocked false esteem

Overlooking old concrete flats

I miss the way the ocean gleams

I have lost my golden dreams

Chasing nothing but better stats

My heart is breaking at the seams

Where everybody hates their teams

And misery oozes from the slats

I miss the way the ocean gleams

Still I forbear the blinding steam

And the running like a rat

My heart is breaking at the seams

I lay my head down on my mat

To dream about the promised fat

I miss the way the ocean gleams

My heart is breaking at the seems

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lee Hawkridge

A young fantasy and science fiction author and occational poet native to the northeast of the United States of America

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.