Poets logo

Strong Wind, Gusty Wind

A Poem

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
Strong Wind, Gusty Wind
Photo by Oliver Hihn on Unsplash

Strong wind, gusty wind, won't you blow my cares away?

Just for a bit of peace, even if just one day.

My heart is hurting and heavy. Blow that away too.

Take everything with you, make it all like new.

My body is tired, there is no wind in my sail.

Let your wind come through and take away the frail.

My soul is a heap of ash; let it fly on your tails.

Scattering about, above the hills and over the trails.

My thoughts are like leaves, covering the ground in the fall.

Gusty wind, come through and clear them all.

My tears shed roll down my face.

Dry them up, or blow them away; away to another place.

My dreams are dark and lonely, my sleep long and cold.

Bring warmth on your breeze, like sunshine that's gold.

Strong wind, gusty wind you, we cannot see.

Bring me back to myself so that I can just be me.

Thank you so much for reading my work. If you would like to read more, visit my profile here.

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.