Poets logo

Strangers

Summer Sonnet

By Nacole TottenPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Strangers
Photo by Jaime Top on Unsplash

The sun felt close.

Skin like toast.

I thought as I approached.

He looks pretty old.

He sat with a cane.

I didn't know his name.

In his eyes was pain.

In mine the same.

Where are you headed?

To read a script.

You seem to dread it!

It is like my fifth.

Are you a star?

No, not hardly.

You won't get far.

What does that mean?

Don't ya see, you are full of gloom?

In order to receive, gotta make some room!

If you can't be trusted, to love your life.

I can pretty much bet, it will never be right.

Yes, indeed times do get hard.

But, don't let yourself fall apart.

You don't understand.

You don't know me.

I've been at this for days.

Got blisters on my feet!

And the heat is at times, too much to bear.

Look how the sweat drips, from my hair!

Of course I'm tired, damn right I'm weak.

The way life is going, it's embarrassing!

Well that's okay, your time is near.

Just take a moment, and tell me your fears.

Well, I'm kinda afraid I'm wasting time.

What if I never get, a moment to shine?

I feel like everything is a fight.

I want something easy, for once in my life.

The man chuckled and rubbed his beard.

If you want easy, you picked the wrong field.

It will hurt and you will grow weary.

And, sometimes your eyes, may even get teary."

A bus had come, but it was his, not mine.

He reached into his pocket, and gave me a dime.

He wiped the liquid from his brow.

Looked up at the sun, and took a bow.

If you really want to have all the riches.

You will first need to find the value in this.

He tipped his hat, and away he staggered

I stare at that dime, whenever I feel shattered.

The path we have chosen may not be safe.

Preparation and Perseverance are how dreams are made.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Nacole Totten

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.