Poets logo

Stop saying sorry

But I can’t

By Beau GreenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I keep saying sorry

At times when I don’t need to

There’s nothing to be sorry about

There’s no need for a pointless apology

Spewing out words with no meaning

But I feel like I need to say it

All the time

Because what if I offended them,

What if I said something wrong

They’re uncomfortably quite

They didn’t respond in a millisecond

So I must have said something wrong

So I should say sorry just in case

It’s the only reasonable option

Even if I don’t need to

Just to be safe

It’s better to be safe than sorry

So,

Sorry.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Beau Green

i have an uncurable illness called 'teenage emotions', and you all have to deal with it. sorry not sorry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.