Poets logo

Still Insecure About Our Friendship

too afraid to ask about it

By HufflecupPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

how do I tell you I only want to talk to you

I want to share every thought with you

and I want to hear every thought of yours

without sounding insane

because we're just friends

and I don't want that to end

I'm just getting to know you

so I won't fuck it up this time

and tell you I love you

if every day was spent with you

doing things you want to do

I would be happy

just to be there

but we're just friends

and I'd like to see you again

because I like to hang out with

when you have the time

so I can't tell you

that I love you

when I think of a happy endings

or hear any love song

all I see is me and you

making memories together

I'm still not sure we're friends yet

maybe you were just putting up with me

I have been known to misread cues

oh great I'm feeding my insecurities

definitely not time to tell you I love you

I know that you don't need it

but some primal part of me

wants to be your protector

just to show you how deeply I care

but if I want you to believe me

I have to be more patient

I want to be a best friend to you

and I know it will take time

just so you know, I'll always be there for you

even if it's just as friends

as long as you are happy

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.