Poets logo

Sticky Buns

A Limerick about Weaponized Incompetence

By Donna ReneePublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
27
Sticky Buns
Photo by LAUREN GRAY on Unsplash

A cinnamon roll he needed

I'd baked all day so I pleaded

"Please give it a try,

(you capable guy)

and get it yourself!" He succeeded!

***I would like to note that while he did get it himself, I still had to provide instructions on reheating***

social commentaryhow to
27

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer3 months ago

    How good homemade cinnamon rolls taste are all I can think about now

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    I made cinnamon rolls the other day and thought of this poem of yours! 🩡

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    I came for the sticky buns and got schooled haha. Love it. I’ve just subscribed as well. I recently saw your subscription as well so thanks very much for that. Much appreciated. πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Yummy!!! I’m inspired to make some now!! Sounds like a great Sunday activity!!

  • Talia Devoraabout a year ago

    What a fun limerick! Please read one of my poems in return. I think you’ll really find this one cute! https://vocal.media/poets/waffle?fbclid=IwAR3zvQ4QHEagG3OMadrPHZYxCKg-AIe0JzVyjMHW-DFcqf40EeOXVZAP-NE

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Lol sounds like my house ☘️ Good one☘️

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Bravo!!!πŸ’–πŸ’•πŸ˜Š

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    Hahah this is excellent. "(you capable guy)" lmao. My favorite part is that you categorized it under "how to" πŸ˜‚

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    What a perfect "How to". LOL great job, Donna!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Cute and relatable! 😊

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Sweet limerick πŸ˜‚

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    hahaha. Well done. Love that note at the end.

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Omg - I hate when guys do that! Pet peeve! Well done! πŸ’–

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    Bahahah nicely done. The note at the end was the icing on the… cinnamon roll πŸ˜‚

  • :D nice one

  • Mark Gagnonabout a year ago

    If only I had my way I would have eaten the whole tray

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Another gem of a limerick! I’ve been enjoying these immensely!

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    What a humorous and relatable depiction of the struggle to share delicious baked goods with loved ones!

  • Haha πŸ˜‚ Nice Touch at the Ending...β€οΈπŸ˜‰

  • Gobi Munusamyabout a year ago

    Wow!!!!

  • Marsha Singhabout a year ago

    Ha! You had faith in him the whole time.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Now you're just being cruel. Is there anything that can compete with warm cinnamon buns? I remember once standing in a cinnamon tree forest in Zanzibar and it nearly drove me crazy; not a cinna-bun for a thousand miles!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.