Poets logo

Stevens Creek

A fish story

By Chris SienerPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

The mist thick

at dawn's first sight

Perfect time for casting

my old ultra light

.

From the bank

I hear a rustle

Then jumps in a mouse

escaping the struggle

.

The water moccasin

holds back at waters edge

Looking upon me fishing

as I set forth my pledge

.

Stay where you are

and I’ll be on my way

So long as you promise

to stay far away

.

Then in the distance

through the thick fog

I see a large buck

crossing creek log

.

But cross he does not

stops, stares in place

Thus pledge to this deer

I’ll leave no trace

.

Just please gift me two

brim from your creek

For my gal and I are camping

and have little to eat

.

Proceed to catch fish

on chartreuse spinner

Just enough brim

for tonight’s campfire dinner

.

On my way out

I honor my pledge

Picking up littered cans

on the creeks edge

Although not the same as Stevens Creek, both photos are from a family cabin along the Muscatatuck River in southern Indiana. The River name meaning, ‘River of Many Turns’.

Thus here’s my story

of my mornings trek

Wading the mystique

waters of Stevens Creek.

.

Wish I had photos of the buck that stood still in the middle of this creek and of the mouse running from the snake at water edge, but this fishing trip was over thirty years ago, so guess it’s just going to remain a fish story.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Chris Siener

Many poems and posts I write have a nature theme, with family or faith frame of reference. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.