Poets logo

Stepdad

Bill

By Erica JordanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Stepdad
Photo by Aarón Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

Stepdad

Bill

I've been thinking a lot lately about life and death.

My mortality has been getting to me.

I’ve been thinking I don’t have a ton of time left,

I’ve learned to accept it.

I don't want to be traveling when it happens.

I want to be with my mother and brothers.

No Bill,

You’re not welcome.

Unless I get my apology, the one I deserve.

I deserve better.

Not made to feel small, or like I have no intelligence.

You’re an intellectual snob.

Don’t you get it?

I deserve better, you’re my parent.

Where were you?

How many times did you put your hands on me?

How much did you drink each night?

I blame you for my mothers addictions.

You’re a dick.

We’re you’re kids, the moment you married mom.

We know, don’t worry.

You can stop telling us.

We know!

Mandy, whom you gave up for adoption is yours.

We’re not, we get it.

You were never there for us.

Just your villa family.

Do you know how proud of my mother I am?

I’ve never been more proud of her.

She’s overcoming her demons.

She's inspiring.

To overcome what she's been through.

Yes, you guys ride or die.

Soon one of us will be gone.

Between your drinking and addictions and my weak body.

I hope I get an apology before then.

You bring the devil out of me.

But then again, I am a product of my environment I was raised in.

Sorry,

Mom, I’m so happy for you.

I love you no matter what.

You’re showing everyone how strong you are.

You’re inspiring me

-ej

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Erica Jordan

Tea is drug. I'm chronically ill. I cant do much except my art that helps my nerve pain and function. That's baking, painting , writing..... anything creative to use that outlet to express myself . Stay Wild Moon Child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.