Poets logo

Stay Woke

cBAkE

By Calvin BakerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Stay Woke
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

I gotta keep it cocked, my mind is not a glock, my mind is like a sniper waiting on the right shot, and if my time is now, one shot is all I got, all these other rappers fake they dreams and leave em out to rot, I wanna go far, till you can’t see me, I wanna do things that make ya kids wanna be me, but still be theyself, while gaining they wealth, until they can’t reach it like it’s on the top shelf, I’m from a neighborhood that had the opposite of wealth, streetlights never worked, had to shine by ourselves, lost in the world, had to find ourselves, when you roll the dice of life you never make it past 12, ha, it’s a crazy world that I’m living in can’t go to sleep till I get it maan, they say the sky is the limit I say the sky’s never ending and even when you think you done this is far from the beginning. I’m tryna Obama, with the change tho, I wanna buy my daddy that new range rov, im thinking about it, I gotta move silent and keep quiet like the D in from of Jango

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.