Poets logo

Statistically Speaking

a numbers game

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Statistically Speaking
Photo by Nick Hillier on Unsplash

my sincerest apologies to the reader for this lengthy and unorthodoxly expression

i know you seek my love of words and not a numbers obsession

but what started out as thirty-six thousand minutes of passive aggression

was later combined with forty 48 days without any questions

and for those of you with pens and paper that would like to keep score

that is twenty five days of silence, followed by one thousand one hundred and fifty two hours more

FOUR thousand two hundred and six days, since the day that her and I met

is not long compared to the seven HUNDRED thirty hours it took for me to accept

what I sent her on April TWENTY first, when I sent her that difficult text

i told her I couldn’t sleep, but at least i removed what was buried in my chest

and after, I have to say, the following twenty-four hours felt like... well they felt weeks

but she said nothing, zero, zilch, as if, I had talked to a dream

luckily, however, I had eighty-NINE days of support that would change my life

and to heal from her decision forty-eight hours before my birthday to make that drive

it was the second time in two DAYS, I would later find out she lied

and I could ask her about other trips that i know, but she would deny

so, I did what I do best, and reframed my mind

i searched the two thousand seven hundred twelve hours to discover my lesson

and those hours became part of the one hundred thirteen days that totaled my blessings

and, to think I waited sixty-six days, before I made that one call

while I paced one hundred seventeen days, alone, behind these walls

but as we know, sometimes the race starts before we get set

so, we start late, so we don’t get LEFT

separate & apart FOR five hundred forty-seven days is the rule

and although I was taught math, I don’t remember that fact from school

but if johnny has four apples and you take away three, how many apples does johnny have left?

The answer is ME.

Thank you for taking the time to read Statistically Speaking. If you have time, please check out some of my other works such as, Rearview Mirror which was featured as a Vocal Top Story, by copying and pasting the link below.

https://vocal.media/poets/rearview-mirror-8w4w74081m

Likes, comments, tips, subscriptions are all very much appreciated.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.