Poets logo

starving - zoe frenchman

This poem expresses the pain associated with intentional starvation. Poems are beautiful because they’re subjective and can be interpreted differently by each reader. With that being said, enjoy.

By zoe frenchmanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
5

i didn’t realize that i was starving at first;

even when i was at my worst;

i didn’t realize that i had become completely immersed;

in the deep sea of restriction, obsession, and fear;

and i denied the brutal reality that my death was near;

at this point in my life;

a time filled with overall conflict and strife;

if my self-inflicted internal damage got any worse;

then i would be lying dead in a hearse;

and i would have succumbed to the fatal curse;

of this petrifying disease that is extremely perverse;

and will always be a factor that remains adverse;

and hinders my progress in a way that’s diverse;

and my deepest wounds were a whole war to reverse;

the initial downfall involved heavy denial;

and that denial lasted for a good while;

until i was on the border of life and death;

and i had to be threatened that i’d take my last breath;

if i didn’t make a significant change in my ways;

and i would never get the mere chance to see better days;

and that i would lose any possibility to see;

all that life has in store for me;

if i had perished at the age of sixteen;

then i would have never seen;

the beautiful, mundane, treacherous, or obscene;

and every wonderful, little thing in between;

and my future would have been obsolete;

and i would have surrendered in utter defeat;

my journey towards health is still far from complete;

this disorder has a palpable and unfair conceit;

this mental hell has a discernible heat;

it’s unfair that i was chosen to sit in this seat;

the seat filled depression, fixation, insecurity, and deceit;

and i hope the day comes when i don’t worry about every single morsel of food that i eat;

i obsess over my appearance and count every flaw;

my body so cold that it’s forced to thaw;

i feel so physically weak that i stumble around;

and i’m feeling so agitated and tightly wound;

the lack of nutrition has affected me deeply;

and that impact has manifested within me comprehensively;

i wish the frustration, dread, doubt, conflict, and pain;

was simply easier to explain;

this debilitating illness is exceedingly convoluted;

causing my mind to be entirely polluted;

and though i’m pessimistic, i hope the day comes around;

that the disease that i possess transforms into a profound;

collection of wisdom, experience, articulation, expression;

and liberation from my constant need to distrust or question;

my knowledge, strengths, and positive traits;

and a whole world of freedom from the restriction awaits;

i aspire to at least move in that direction;

the direction of acceptance of my own reflection;

and at least have a civil self-connection;

my mind moves back-and-forth so extremely;

the complexity of the illness can be illustrated violently;

so the only way that i can honestly end this;

is to say that eating disorders are nothing to dismiss;

but in all honesty, i’m not at a point within my own healing;

that i can provide a conclusion that’s collectively satisfying or appealing;

my journey has gone on for many years;

through so many fiascos and a torrent of tears;

and yet i still can’t seem to relax for my own sake;

starvation can push you until you completely break.

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

zoe frenchman

I’m Zoe, I’m 21, and I’m an aspiring writer, filmmaker, musician, & mental health advocate. I’m a poet and content writer currently enrolled in the Creative Writing BFA program at Full Sail U!

LinkTree (all social and professional links)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.