Poets logo

Starry night

A poem about adolescence

By Rambler's SocietyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Starry night
Photo by Brantley Neal on Unsplash

A starry night, tiny specks of beautiful forgetful nothings.

Shining bright, giving life to twilight,

All but translucent in my glazed-over gaze.

I wish I could feel something. Anything.

The feeling of love, wanderlust, adventure, and loss.

My day will come, when finally, someone will tell me it's time to feel.

To really feel those feelings, to really crave the warmth of another heart, or even the cold loneliness of grief.

For now, I'll sit here staring into the waves of the velvety starry night sky. I sip my brain-numbing fermented juice, inhale the smoke of some plant, and wait.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Rambler's Society

Hello everyone! I write fictional surreal stories and poems. I love writing and I hope that you enjoy reading what I've to offer. I have plenty more written down on my website so I'd love it if you'd go check it out!

ramblersociety.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.