Poets logo

Star-Crossed

Not lovers. Just friends.

By Anarky TaylorPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

What do you imagine,

When you’re on your own,

needing a distraction,

seeking the unknown?

I'll tell you what I see,

keep it just with you,

Dreams in obscurity,

Of us draped in blue.

In the starry night sky,

Two of us soaring,

In love and so high,

We were exploring.

So close yet so far away,

immersed in fantasy,

just friends where we lay,

Pain like ecstasy.

Silvery stars sparkle,

not as bright as you,

feelings had me startled,

lashes wet with dew.

When you hold my hand,

God, I feel alive,

but never understand,

the love that will thrive.

Just a fool to pretend,

She sees me as I am,

or more than a girl friend

just a sorry sham.

Can you breathe up there without me?

like those suffocating stars.

I'll be your willing abductee,

Staying behind these cold bars

I'll tell you what I see,

Games I hate to play,

Dreams in obscurity,

See us cold in grey.

In the pitch-black sky,

Two of us roaring,

In pain and so high,

I’m discolouring

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Anarky Taylor

A wordsmith of sorts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.