Poets logo

Squirrel on the Wire

Hey there, little one.

By My Name Is Not CypressPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2022
46

I rarely do but that day,

when I had a second to breathe

I looked up at the sky

A squirrel scurried across the wire

Against the blue, on top of the black, a tiny blob of moving gray

.

I admired his hurry

Do you have a place to be,

little one?

Do you have someone waiting?

.

I envied his ease

Hundreds of yards, mid-air

No pause, nor fear.

At least not for the world to see.

.

Do you know it’s not the worst thing

To fall?

Or are you not curious

when you slip and hit the ground

if there will be an awakening.

.

I should know.

I used to walk on broken glass

I used to skid on thin ice

I wonder, how I lost my stripes.

nature poetry
46

About the Creator

My Name Is Not Cypress

She might not be as good as she thought.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Excellent poem. Love the way you related “I used to walk on broken glass.” Deep, emoting pain. 🥰

  • Kylara2 years ago

    Amazing piece!

  • D-Donohoe2 years ago

    Damn squirrels!!! But great poem! Gave me a smile!

  • Devilisa Warner2 years ago

    Niiiiiice, love it. :)

  • Angie Seminara2 years ago

    the first stanza is my favorite. SO GOOD!

  • Loved the imagery you've used. Truly brilliant!

  • Hearted and Subscribed. I love your style! 😊

  • This is so beautiful and well written with a wonderful analogy and great message! Bravo!

  • Lovely poem, really enjoyed this and you got a subscription

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Wonderful. Something so simple can be something so poetic and you did it so well.

  • Heather Lunsford2 years ago

    Thank you for a moment of simple joy in my day.

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    Luxurious thoughts encapsulated poetically. What joy!

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    They do provoke our thoughts, don't they? A wonderful piece of observed thought...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.