Poets logo

Spring Melancholy

A short poem

By Sinbad McCaffreyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

When I see the old water tank

Propped up by the shed

And the cunning gutter rusted through.

I feel so sad to think it once was new.

And on the fork the worm has fed.

It’s tines dig only half the bed.

The cautious grub is at the root

And the robin sings unfed.

With shops that fail

And rusted gates with rusted chains,

My heart goes out to untended things.

Though I suppose they lasted well.

And all our works will be the same.

They are not needed now.

For on the fork the worm has fed.

It’s tines dig only half the bed.

The cautious grub is at the root

And the robin sings unfed.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Sinbad McCaffrey

I tell stories to whoever will listen. My Greek father told me Odysseus stories I never found in Homer and my Glaswegian mother told me tales of war time, joy and grief. Music, writing, parenting and making gardens is what I do.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.