Poets logo

Spotless Mind

a poem

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
3

Take me out

of my mind.

I’ll leave behind

unloved memories.

Help me escape

the reigning pain

in my brain

but carefully

because I doubt

we would survive

another swan-dive

into psychology

of this grave

fearing maid, who

denies the truth

of mortality.

Purge the sprout

of ruthless dread

from my head

like cavities.

Gouge and scrape

the hate away.

Keep at bay

my dismality.

Through the drought

of salvaged hope,

wield your rope

of sympathy.

Try to save

this woeful soul,

fill my holes

of insecurity.

Tell me about

days when you

were able to

live freely.

Help me tape

the cracks in

my broken disposition,

and eventually,

I’ll sleep without

needing to be

drunk. Hold me

but carefully

because I crave

closeness, but I

know nothing outside

of solitary.

Take me out

of my lonesome.

Take me home,

so we

can finally escape

this heartache binding

my cluttered mind

and unloved memories.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kat S. Tobias2 years ago

    This one hurts, in a good way because it's beautiful, but also too real. The constant tug-of-war between wanting to live and be close and the mind not allowing. I like your structure, it goes well with the fragmented, broken impression your words create.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.