Poets logo

Spider Wonder

a poem by @philosopherbonnie

By @choosethesmilesPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3
Spider Wonder
Photo by Vidar Nordli-Mathisen on Unsplash

Dearest spider,

We met only briefly,

But you seemed nice enough.

Burly, thick, glossy black, fast -

I thought you were quite lovely,

Actually.

I tried to be good to you -

Realizing that my next actions,

Or inaction,

Could mean life or death to you.

I wanted to take a shower,

A privileged act -

I know. 

A potentially long life for you -

If I help well,

Or a potentially short,

Maybe even tortured life,

If I get it wrong.

What does a good life mean to a spider?

If I wanted to "walk right" here,

How should I intervene?

You ran from the nice clean jar

I was going to take you outside in -

Were you afraid?

Do you have any concept of kindness from a human?

Am I the first human you’ve met?

I think I might have hurt your leg

When you ran -

I didn't mean to hurt you at all,

I was truly trying to help,

But I saw you limped about for a bit

And was sad you'd experienced pain anyway.

I wasn't wanting to be cruel.

I sat for a minute thinking about what to do -

Not wanting to torture you more

By scaring you, either.

I am so big,

And you are so small -

And I don’t understand your world,

And you wandered into mine,

Into danger.

I spoke to you in a language you don’t understand,

Telling you my plans.

Praying you’d do effective self-care.

I angled the shower head down so it would miss you,

And adjusted the valve so it wouldn’t gush.

You got farther out of the way -

Your leg seemed better.

I was careful not to splash you -

I was glad to see you were moving about,

I hoped the mist felt refreshing

During my speedy quick shower.

I was sad to find you later in a little puddle,

Unmoving.

I'd hoped you'd dry out and find your way out,

But I think you died,

Because of my privilege.

Is this what being a non-omniscient god is like?

Doing the best you can with what you know,

Getting it wrong so easily -

Deeply humbled by it all?

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

@choosethesmiles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

@choosethesmiles is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.