Poets logo

Speaking Terms

if only in my mind

By Skylar WhitneyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Speaking Terms
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Staring out the frosted glass

Slippery roads and foreign bodies below

Stuck in a trance of you on my mind

Slowly, so slowly, passing the time

Sometimes I wonder if I cross yours too

Suddenly struck with inspiration for what I should do

So I've decided, I'll make the first move

Slipping my feelings into a paper envelope

Sorry if this isn't good enough for you

Starting this game, the move I did make

Shocked or delighted? One can never quite say

Speak to me now, your words come out clear

Sun appears on my table, pen alighted with joy

So I guess we're now on speaking terms, what a surprise to find

love poems
1

About the Creator

Skylar Whitney

Introvert at heart. Lover of journaling, free-verse poetry, and poutine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.