Poets logo

South of Heaven, Past the Mountains and Under the Lime Tree

Living out of a suitcase

By Megan Stockhill Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
South of Heaven, Past the Mountains and Under the Lime Tree
Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

South of Heaven

Past the mountains

And under the lime tree

That's where you'll find me

End of the twisting road unwinding

Where the sun is softly blinding

Guitars and willows gently weeping

Heart is beating

Heart is crying

You'll know me by the dress I'm wearing

While the world is slowly dying

I used to live in a room

At the end of a hallway

Near the ice machine

Not far away there was a hotel

Shaped like a Gibson

But I only lived there a week

East of Eden

North of suffering

And by the lilac tree

That's where I used to be

Writing poetry

And listening to dead artists

Who never knew me

Though I knew all about them

Soulful, hazy

Slightly dizzy

Love lies bleeding

Going crazy

But it was home

I used to live alone

On an island in the Minch

Where there were giant chess pieces

And also neo-pagans

Who chanted and danced around rocks

But I was only there a few months

South of Heaven

Western-bound

Eyes on stars

And feet on ground

I'm looking around

At people who think vaccines

Save lives

And others who think they

Take lives

Why can't both sides

Just agree to do what's best for all involved

And try to solve this catastrophe?

Or is it all money and greed

And lack of resolve?

Should we all just dissolve

Into the sea of endless brokenness?

I used to feel alone

In a wooden house

Looking out on

Neon and smoke

With my hummingbird garden

But then I met him

Back to Eden

Back to Arden

And once upon a dream

That's where you'll find me

End of the road that's long and winding

Past the pool of tears done crying

And fears no longer binding

Where spring is now awakening

Heart no longer aching

No more lying

No more dying

You'll know me by the scars I'm wearing

While the world is slowly trying

To put its pieces back together

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Megan Stockhill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.