Poets logo

Sorry Math, I dislike you

A sonnet

By Diani AlvarengaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2023
65
Sorry Math, I dislike you
Photo by Saad Ahmad on Unsplash

Spending more time on my Facebook

Watching videos and memes of pure comedy

Sorry, I am unable to focus on this textbook

I want nothing to do with geometry

I go to tik-tok and YouTube to comprehend

Okay, I think I am getting the hang of it

Ugh, never-mind, I cannot pretend

Dark clouds over me, many struggles, I admit

Seriously, I want nothing to do with equations

I have no choice, it is a requirement

Having to come is without a doubt a frustration

I cannot create an excitement

But it’s not that boring

It’s just all about repeating

social commentarysad poetry
65

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • Alisha 3 months ago

    Good

  • Lucinda Cookabout a year ago

    Resonates with me, check out my story here, When and Why does 0+0=3+0?

  • cruddymooseabout a year ago

    good poem

  • cruddymooseabout a year ago

    nice

  • Burn Bookabout a year ago

    May I suggest congregating in the village square and burning all the math textbooks for some arson-adjacent fun?

  • Rachel Roseabout a year ago

    I didn't have Facebook or TikTok to distract me from math when I was young 🥹

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I have read your poem multiple times...and I completely agree with your central theme. I hated math, and I hated the ones who told me I would like it if I just concentrated on it even more than any assignment I was ever given (many long years of hate and headaches in too many classes). Well said and well done! ;)

  • Mark Grahamabout a year ago

    I guess Math is just one of those subjects one likes or hates to a degree.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Amen!! Hearted and subscribed

  • Austin Barakaabout a year ago

    Dealing with numbers ain't my thing, was never good in math😅 made me hate school even more😂😂

  • Chua Yuan Hengabout a year ago

    You must find out what Maths are being used for then you will come to love it. It is used in computer programming, programming complex stuffs like AI and game physics. It is also used in many other fields, probably things like launching a rocket into space.

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    👍🏾 Geometry and I are not friends either! lol Congrats on your TOP STORY!

  • Apollo Derüloabout a year ago

    nicely worded

  • bikash kumarabout a year ago

    hello ma'am please share me about how many earning every month this platform

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Great work and congratulations on Top Story!!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Great job and congratulations on your top story!

  • Totally agreed, math is my worst nightmare lol

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    heart felt and spot on!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Hazel Rymell about a year ago

    I liked this, well done!

  • Diani Alvarenga (Author)about a year ago

    Hello all! Thank you for your comments! I am in shock! ❤️

  • Mary Haynesabout a year ago

    In the words of Chevy Chase on Saturday Night Live, “It was my understanding there would be no math!” I concur with that statement and your poem! Good job.

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    A sonnet!! How daring. I loved relating to this piece. Congrats on your Top Story!! 💕

  • Official Behlicabout a year ago

    As an old school maths guy I don't like this at all!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.