Poets logo

Sonnet II

Whispered to me has this fell secret been

By D.C. YostPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Sonnet II
Photo by Cole Farlow on Unsplash

Whispered to me has this fell secret been:

That dreams of youth have not yet been in vain.

For still there is a beauty not yet seen,

for which this heart may yet still beat again.

These charcoal skies; they shade these ancient trees.

This forest path I feel the urge to tread.

As spring begins, I crave the fallen leaves;

and long to flee this shining sun I dread.

Still shadows dance along my cavern walls;

these shadows of a fair and holy form.

They greet me as night, dark and lonely, falls –

they urge me on until the day is born.

And if the sun has done one deed for me,

it is these shadows it has cast of thee.

art
1

About the Creator

D.C. Yost

Graduate Student in Theology. Writing about gods, love, death, and beauty.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.