Poets logo

Songbird

If you love something, set it free

By Kristin BrownPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Songbird
Photo by Bruno Martins on Unsplash

A featherless bird sits on a branch with me

He’s all full of laughter with eyes I can’t see

We’re both well aware that our time is gone

And he quickly tries to put his feathers back on

There’s no quick brush of my arms with his wings

There is no emotion at all in the nonsense he brings

He knows how to sing but not what to say

And so he says nothing and then flies away

I’m left with his discomfort and strange words

Perplexed by the actions of silly, sad birds

But I realized much later when I started to cry

That I mattered enough to not say goodbye

But now it’s like the tree never existed at all

Don’t wait for the songbird who’ll never call

If he says that he will then he’s all full of lies

He’s worse at hellos than he is at goodbyes

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kristin Brown

Writing is my passion, storytelling is my escape, poetry is the best therapist ever. It’s equal parts helium and lead. It’s both butterfly and albatross. It’s 100% sending my child into the world, hoping you’ll like her for who she is.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.