Poets logo

Songbird

Always here

By Holding Hands With ShadowsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Photo: Sammy Catherine Photography

I sit on the ground, covered in dust.

Around me is the rubble.

Shards of glass glittering in the sunshine,

Splinters splayed along the concrete.

The walls have crumbled,

The roof is caved in.

I breathe heavy breaths,

My heart is a weight in my chest.

It’s over now.

The damage is done,

The chaos frozen,

Making way for the calm.

I look up and there you are.

Singing without a care.

Your tune carries through the broken room,

Cheerful and strong.

Perfect in a world of imperfection.

You dance along the sunbeams,

Filling the air with music.

A smile slips across my lips,

I am really just glad you're here,

My songbird.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Holding Hands With Shadows

It's only a phase.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.