Poets logo

Somewhere To Hang My Hat

A Testimony

By Tiffany Gordon Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
21

The other day I swallowed a huge pill...

I lost my livelihood and nearly lost my will...

The other day I came face to face with adversity...

And honestly, he just about beat everything out of me...

For thirty-four years, I prepared the next generation to take their places in the world…

Today, without a job my own dreams have curled...

Who am I without a gig?

Does anyone care?

Who am I to complain?

I know that life is not fair...

All I need is a hand-up, an opportunity, a chance…

Somewhere to hang my hat and plenty of shirts and pants...

Also, some money to pay for my children's needs…

But please, please, please, keep the emotional sympathy...

Guess what? A ray of light has finally entered the door…

I just sent out my very first electronic resume for an HR position at Job's department store...

16 months after the storm hit…

I can smile and proudly say:

"I stuck it out and managed to land the perfect job at the end of this glorious day!"

inspirational
21

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 months ago

    I had hearted but not commented , but I have now

  • Still, Love 💕 This Southern feeling 📝

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    I kind of missed this one, better late than never, words come along right when you need them. I feel uplifted today. Thank you Tiff.

  • 🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • This was so wonderful and very inspirational!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Loved the rhythm! You kept the message uplifting even though it could have been sad. Absolutely wonderful :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.