Poets logo

Somewhere In-between

Invisible and seen

By Tessa Glasgow Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I know what it’s like

To be an afterthought,

To be living

In the shadows

Of someone else’s life…

To be fed

The leftovers of love

When it’s convenient,

As if crumbs

Should be enough

To sustain my love.

But I also know

What it’s like

To be in the spotlight,

To overcast the shine

In someone else’s eyes,

Even if unintentionally.

And I hate

That part of me…

The side that needs

To be noticed,

But not close enough to show

That my wearied seams

Are stitched together

With insecurity.

The side that needs validation

But not too much,

Because I associate a weight

With receiving praise.

I have walked

The contradictory story lines

Of both the forgotten

And the favored,

And I still haven’t found

A balance between

What suits my needs.

So,

I will forge my own home

For these contrary bones

Where I can hang my name

Without anxiety or shame.

Somewhere in between

Invisible and seen.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Tessa Glasgow

35. Stay at home mom. Dark Poetess

IG: @deadofnightpoetry

My debut poetry collection, “Wildfire From Hell: Poetry and Prose,” is now available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.