Poets logo

Someone I Used to Know

Become again

By Amy ChristiePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Someone who used to smile,

share twinkles,

starry smiles,

a will to love,

and keep joy safe,

a way to find forgotten hearts

unloved,

forlorn,

sad no more

after hugs,

that someone waves me back

dare I come and hold hands

have I moved past

what I once was,

can I become again

love, happy ever after,

can wishes stay on shoulder

never to run again

here for lifetimes

or this second,

I know not where I've been,

I lost the road back home,

and still,

I know there is one star

that remembers my name.

***

Our song

stayed buried for a while,

I hear it now again,

I follow where words lead,

I will not stray again,

I miss my old self,

and that laughter

that could move mountains

in a wink

take apart sadness,

start once more,

loving wild chance,

dreaming without regret,

I risk a gaze,

I hold this grace

in lands of heart.

***

Where did I step

and how did shadows

come to reign,

I did not fear desert

I looked for bridge

and sunrise,

lost my way

in sunset

after twilit sky

stopped whispering

of love,

I felt forlorn, undone,

I carried on, I stayed,

I walked, became an island,

in sailing through a storm,

I took all burdens,

locked my soul,

far above sunny laughter

and the wish

to love

and be loved back

to sing with moonshine

ever after.

***

I wanted to hold on,

let go,

laughter did not abandon,

soul found a way

out of crossroad,

doubt left my garden,

and this peace

descends in waves of sunny tears,

covers memories

with blue smile,

if I was hurt before, I tried,

if I was wrong,

I said goodbye,

if I hold on,

I know I've found the one

to carry my love

to our home

in song that starts

tomorrow's hopes.

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

Originally published on NewsBreak

Photo credit: Pexels

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.