Poets logo

Soda Pop Pirates

An emotional out pour.

By Zoe MizePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am stilted,

I am backwash conversation from the soda monologues of teenagerdom.

There is sticky sweetness of lost love on my fingers.

If you kiss me you will taste the syrup of loneliness that is my soul.

There is something inside me that pours itself onto ice and offers itself up to passersby,

But I close my lips so its cries echo in the cavity of my mouth.

Dear God, don’t let anyone hear it.

I am a an empty cavern waiting to be filled,

My once illustrious walls now blank and smooth from men who have stolen my treasures.

Pirates, they all are, here to take what they are not given.

Pirates sipping their off-brand soda pop in the sun,

Their bodies covered in the gold of my soul.

I am stilted.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Zoe Mize

Somewhere between single and not, sane and insane, and broke and also broke. I like to write, and sometimes I need a break at my desk. I'm a 22 year old just winging it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.