Poets logo

So here we are With a tale to tell, A story of strength and love One you might, might not know well, You’re right, the rhyme is cheesy Maybe a little trite But believe in love and hope Read on, hang on tight. I was me She was she I didn’t choose to be He was he She was she He didn’t choose to be Her mind was fractured Her heart in shards broken No tools in her kit To unscrew the past to the open. So she spiralled to the dark One by one No hand to hold Separated, confused We were sucked, vortexed Into her Ark It wasn’t Noah’s We didn’t float We tried to swim Gasping for air, searching for a shore Clinging to rocks Hoping love would rope us in Then she was gone Left to foot soldiers to battle on He was my warrior, protector, inspiration and guard I tried to reach him But ancient armour bound tight round his heart. To hold his hand To reach that heart To have just that Would be the start Of a life worth living He is my rock My float We’re safe now She’s gone We can sail the seas Our Noah’s Ark. Our Life Boat

It wasn’t Noah’s

By Lizzy WeeksPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

So here we are

With a tale to tell,

A story of strength and love

One you might, might not know well,

You’re right, the rhyme is cheesy

Maybe a little trite

But believe in love and hope

Read on, hang on tight.

I was me

She was she

I didn’t choose to be

He was he

She was she

He didn’t choose to be

Her mind was fractured

Her heart in shards broken

No tools in her kit

To unscrew the past to the open.

So she spiralled to the dark

One by one

No hand to hold

Separated, confused

We were sucked, vortexed

Into her Ark

It wasn’t Noah’s

We didn’t float

We tried to swim

Gasping for air, searching for a shore

Clinging to rocks

Hoping love would rope us in

Then she was gone

Left to foot soldiers to battle on

He was my warrior, protector, inspiration and guard

I tried to reach him

But ancient armour bound tight round his heart.

To hold his hand

To reach that heart

To have just that

Would be the start

Of a life worth living

He is my rock

My float

We’re safe now

She’s gone

We can sail the seas

Our Noah’s Ark.

Our Life Boat

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lizzy Weeks

I’m a married girl, mum to a rescue dog, enzo and I love to write. Poems, short stories. Would love to share them

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.