Poets logo

Snow Me A River

...a vast river of snow

By Susan DownsPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Snow Me A River
Photo by Filip Bunkens on Unsplash

Snow me a river I can sail upon

Blanket my thoughts with dreams of eternity.

Provide me a sailboat upon which I would steer,

as I stare through my snow-covered window.

List each and every pace I would make

and make note of every room that I stand in.

Deep breaths of consolation as the flakes continue to fall.

There's no stopping these flakes they call feelings,

they keep moving on like the day.

Ships passing with names like

The Changing,

The Shifting,

The Melting,

The Sleeping,

The Praying,

and The Eating Bear.

The Galley is full on this snowy river

and the cravings are wholly fulfilled!

Another deep breath on life;

a quick break to part the snowy river.

I venture to get outside, no dingy needed

to the other side.

In my laden travels, a sudden thought...

I can walk on snow.

A stop,

I pause; a look this way

and that way-

A beautiful vast river of snow.

Instead, I return to my boat

where

it is

safe and warm-

and once again, I become the lighthouse

standing by the storm.

inspirationalnature poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Leba Arechigaabout a year ago

    Just lovely!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.