Poets logo

Snap, Crackle & Pop

When the ages noises of the body just won't stop

By Crystal RaePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Snap, Crackle & Pop
Photo by Dainis Graveris on Unsplash

Although, her skin was tanned and lean

Her body no longer felt like a flexible, youthful machine

So many aches, bruises, and other annoying growing-old cons

Things that make you question at what point it all started going wrong

As far back as I can remember, my right knee would constantly stick while I was in slumber land

Counting back from ten, out loud inside my mind, I would jump up and force myself to stand...

A private little hell I wasn't sure how to share

I could perfectly walk, most times, so no one would really even care

Was this my first red flag my joints would begin retiring at a much younger age

If so, I should have paid more attention to my insides as much as I did wanting to physically look like a model on "that" front page

You get my drift, and why I am not too terribly shocked by the lack of movements and sounds of my bones

Just know one thing... you will continually see me walking, as long and willing, as I am still able to comfortably roam

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Crystal Rae

My heart bleeds black and white for you to read like an open book... so don't be shy... take a look!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • blush n beautyabout a year ago

    should I be vocal+ creator to receive $50 bonus for 50 published stories?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.