Poets logo

Snap

crackle pop

By Darin LeighPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Ithalu Dominguez from Pexels

Sangria whispers and

The coral of your lips as

Your fingers slip under my dress and

I start seeing stars.

Pale sweat on a Wednesday as

My eyes dredge open and

My toes search for you under

A mountain of soft things.

Could you hear me dream of it as

We drove down the countryside and

The imaginings of life with you

Filled my eager eyes?

Were you looking as

Your screams penetrated me and

Your hands banged against the steering wheel as

My heart shut and dried?

Did you see the light leave me and

Do you know where I can get it back?

Some days it still hurts

Hell, it hurts everyday but

I can honestly say thank you for

Setting me free and

Walking so far away that now

I couldn’t see your reflection in

My rear view mirror even if

I tried.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Darin Leigh

Just the ramblings of an artist in her 20s. I write a lot of unplanned poetry. I hope you enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.