Poets logo

Snagged

a poem against vulnerability

By Emma LouisePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2021
7
Snagged
Photo by Manki Kim on Unsplash

In anticipation,

and with a ragged metal key,

I sliced a mouth in my nylons,

only to find that they’d melded with skin,

and in ripping myself open to you I had unsealed my body,

carelessly peeled it apart.

And when,

through the fresh-teared skin,

came the things that live in the shadows of organs and bones,

the things that are only bearable in darkness,

I watched you turn away as they hit the light.

I threw the room apart in search of anything to fix the snag:

nail polish,

hairspray,

a needle and thread.

But I had forgotten,

in my haste to repossess you,

that my skin is not my stockings,

and the holes I leave are not so easily repaired.

sad poetry
7

About the Creator

Emma Louise

22 year old grad student just trying to explore her voice through poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.