Poets logo

Smoke Does Rise

Poems of the Pure #2

By Makenna NicolePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Smoke Does Rise

Won't quicken my steps/ Won't question my loneliness/ Won't turn me inside out/ He won't be a quantum for my proof/ He told me to read my own skin/ "I dare you to move"/

Don't hold on quick/ Because you can't hold on tight/ He doesn't lie/ He doesn't act like he's seen my dreams within the night/ He doesn't promise me my winnings within the fight/ He won't bring his fingers into the fire/ While I sit closest to the flames/ Says he won't do it/ 'Cause I need someone to see it from the outside/ So he can tell me if the smoke does rise/ He takes his own advice/ Don't hold on quick/ 'Cause you can't hold on tight/

He won't bare my cross/ He doesn't notice how I wear it/ Underneath my shirt/ A talisman is nothing new/ He won't be a quantum for my proof/ He doesn't mind faith/ But he's says I've got to responsible/ For my own relief/

Don't hold on quick/ Because you can't hold on tight/ He doesn't lie/ He doesn't act like he's seen my dreams within the night/ He doesn't promise me my winnings within the fight/ He won't bring his fingers into the fire/ While I sit closest to the flames/ Says he won't do it/ 'Cause I need someone to see it from the outside/ So he can tell me if the smoke does rise/ He takes his own advice/ Don't hold on quick/ 'Cause you can't hold on tight/

He took my hand once/ And I said/ "Now, don't hold on quick if you can't hold on tight"/ He insisted he lied/ Says the one that can ever truly see it/ Is the one from the inside/ It will be in front of your eyes/

If the smoke does rise

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Makenna Nicole

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.