Poets logo

Smiley

A poem

By Conor MatthewsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Smiley
Photo by Tate Lohmiller on Unsplash

I'm locked in other people's smiles,

To keep their bad times out of my mouth.

I can't help not smiling,

I don't hate like they love,

I'm just scared to be happy.

The hopeful disappoint hope,

Yell at the worried,

Mock the dead,

Slap the palms,

Beat the ground.

“Why aren't you happy?

Who do you hate?”

They ask,

Echoing your head.

You go quiet,

Buried beneath questions,

You can't help but think.

They are not dumb,

They are not foolish,

They just want to smile.

But their teeth crack,

Their jaws crush,

As you move too slow.

I feel chewed up by the grins.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Conor Matthews

Writer. Opinions are my own. https://ko-fi.com/conormatthews

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.