Poets logo

Slumbering Giant

towering giant

By A.N.TiptonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
14
Taken off the beaten path near Lake Merwin, WA

Slumbering giant,

towering giant,

standing tall, like a proud parent

in your kingdom of green.

🌲

Years pass by like the

rings hidden in your timber,

marking the timeless

rising and falling of the sun.

🌲

Ancient and regal,

you seem to stand alone,

yet rooted deep,

connected to the earth,

🌲

and to the hidden underground

network of the arbors

that look up to you,

in the sea of rolling treetops.

🌲

You are their protector.

Image taken by author

Even from a good distance away,

I feel your noble presence,

emanating in the clearing,

blanketing everything that surrounds you.

🌲

I close my eyes,

accepting your peace,

and the deep, silent wisdom

that resonates into my soul.

🌲

You are alive,

more alive than any of us,

swaying in the gentle breeze,

ever watchful and resilient.

🌲

We connect,

in a moment of breath,

for you are the lungs of Gaia,

making it possible for mine to work.

🌲

I honor you.

Image taken by author

We are the same, in oneness,

you majestic pillar of eons,

vibrating at a coherent tone of conversation,

that needs no words.

🌲

Because in that moment of awe,

I feel you.

I feel your infinite presence,

I feel your abiding peace,

🌲

I feel your ancient wisdom,

I feel your nobility

and evergreen of acceptance.

I feel your love.

🌲

I find it incomprehensibly,

impossible to ignore you,

shining like a quiet beacon,

a brave sentinel of cycles past.

🌲

Do you feel my deep gratitude?

Image taken by author

Slumbering giant,

towering giant.

So funny story, me and a couple of my girlfriends got a little lost on a back road in the country and as we drove down this curvy gravel road. I look over and saw this majestic pillar standing tall amidst it's subjects.

I yelled, "Stop! I need to take a picture."

And being the wonderful, accepting goddesses of my sometimes hippie ways, they stop and wait while I get out of the car and commune with the breathtaking view, and of this beautiful arbor that grabbed my attention. Of course, being a writer, I felt inspired to put what I felt in that moment on the page. So here you are. I hope you can gain a moment of peace through these words and images.

Thank you for reading. If you like this article please heart me, share or check out my other works here.

nature poetry
14

About the Creator

A.N.Tipton

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.

https://linktr.ee/A.N.Tipton

© 2023 A. N. Tipton

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Beautiful 😍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.